The NOMOS environs
After the political changes of 1990, NOMOS Glashütte was the first brand to construct mechanical watches with the Glashütte stamp of origin. It has two production sites in the town: the factory on the hill over the town center and the train station.
This 1937 structure on the town's main intersection no longer stands as it once did: mousy gray and boarded up. Since 2005 the renovated building gleams brightly with plenty of glass and artistic construction in the town center. The planning and construction lasted a good four years being slightly interrupted by the "flood of the century" that struck the region in 2002. With a good 1200 square meters of floors pace, the structure now serves as NOMOS Glashütte's main fabrication and administration building.
Architects and engineers only assisted in the renovation; primary project management was carried out by artist Klaus Schmitt, a former student of Günther Uecker in Düsseldorf. With a firm sense of space and light, in no time at all he was able to give the building a complete makeover and turn it around 180º (literally - by placing the main entrance on the opposite side of the building). Today, what was once the station's main booking hall now houses the offices for quality control among others.
On top of the new entrance hall stands a glass-walled office that serves as a conference space, effectively the "brain" of NOMOS, since this is the site of much brooding and the place where ideas come together. Located directly across the street from fellow watchmakers Glashütte Original and Lange & Söhne, we are also able to keep tabs on our worldwide competition from this office.